Henry turns one!

If you know me in real life you know that I’ve been slightly struggling with Henry turning one. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m super excited to watch him grow. But that was the fastest year ever and I am a little sad he’s done being a baby (mostly). So please indulge me in the over sharing of photos and thoughts.

We found out we were having a boy at 10(ish) weeks pregnant. I had a blood test that determined risk for down syndrome and things like that but it also tested gender. My midwife had the funniest smile on her face when she told me and I think I sat with my mouth hanging wide open for a long time. I had a hard time wrapping my head around it until he was born and even now I still look at him and think ‘we have a son’ and it shocks me.

What a sweet baby he has been! He was born 9 lbs 11 oz so he was never tiny but he was such a cute little guy and we all loved on him right from the start.

IMG_5088
The girls have been incredible with him.

IMG_5142.JPG

I miss those baby days sometimes. The snuggles, the sweetness. Their tiny floppy newborn bodies that depend on you for everything are just everything. But also so exhausting.

 

img_7396

But at the same time I am loving watching him grow up (and sleeping more!). He is so fun these days! He loves to vrooooom his cars around (I think he was born knowing how to make that noise). He claps and points and signs ‘all done’.

img_7507
His favorite thing in the is to be outside. Walking (stumbling) all over with me trailing behind hoping he doesn’t fall too hard. He loves sticks and balls and rocks and mud. But you can also catch him trying to put one of his sisters headbands on his head and he loves to snuggle anything super soft.

img_7559
Can you even stand it?!

img_7636img_8395IMG_9161

For awhile I was worried he would never eat but he just didn’t care for baby food. He eats everything we’re eating but especially seems to enjoy meat and cheese. He will walk up to you if he sees you eating and say “num” and make a sound with his mouth that sounds like he’s eating and it’s so funny that everyone always wants to give in and give him a bite.

He’s a tornado of energy and destruction but I think most one-year-olds are and a calm toddler is probably the exception. He enjoys emptying cupboards and sticking his hand in the trash can. And pulling things off the table (he’s so tall). It’s been a lot of fun having a boy in the house and I can’t wait to watch him grow more!

Henry John we love you so much and can’t imagine our life without you! We thank God for you every day!

Leave a Reply

