monday: best of last week

:: when I get to where I’m going ::

:: 15 things to remind yourself this week (warning language if you’re a delicate flower) ::

:: “In a recent post on Cup of Jo, Danielle Aceino was interviewed about her beauty routine, but several lines in particular – an aside, almost – really hit home: “Let yourself be inspired by yourself and be alive to who you are. Our unedited self is gorgeous and profound; it guides everything else.” I tucked this in my pocket in Los Angeles and carried it around with me. When I felt slightly uncomfortable at the table dining alone or unsure what I should do with a chunk of time in between more structured activities, I’d remind myself to just sit and listen for a minute. Hang with myself. Get to know myself as a person again — without a little one tugging at my jeans or business emails awaiting replies. And I don’t think you need a sunny city or a You Do You escape to do that. I think sometimes it takes a lot of deliberate effort to get there and becomes really difficult when our daily routines feel constraining, but one thing I took home with me: a solo meal out by yourself or a long walk to nowhere in particular is a mighty fine start.” from a weekend in L.A. ::

:: drowning in plain sight – I saw friends link this on FB and I had friends talking about it in real life, this one really seemed to affect people ::

:: living the gritty poetry of love ::

Leave a Reply

